Skip to main content

Start here

Storage is the shock absorber of the energy system. When a pipeline stops or a cargo is delayed, what stands between that and a shortage is whatever is already sitting in a cavern, a tank, or a terminal — and how full it is. This layer tracks roughly 125 of the facilities where that buffer actually lives: European gas caverns, the US Strategic Petroleum Reserve, the big LNG terminals, and the crude hubs like Cushing and Rotterdam that set prices.

The one rule worth knowing

If an operator publishes a fill level, it is shown. If not, it says not disclosed. Nothing is estimated, interpolated, or inferred from a country average and presented as a facility figure. That is a deliberate trade. It means the map has visible holes — and it means every number on it is something somebody actually published. Where facility-level data is missing, the panel falls back to a country aggregate, clearly labelled as such.
Capacity figures are nameplate, not usable. Working capacity is typically 75-85% of nameplate for underground gas storage. A facility at “100% of nameplate” is not a thing that happens.

Scope

Release 1 launches with ~125 curated critical storage facilities, not a global census. Curation bias: facilities that move markets, not every tank farm on earth.
  • Underground gas storage (UGS): top European sites (Rehden, Bergermeer, Haidach, Chiren, etc.), US salt caverns.
  • Strategic Petroleum Reserve caverns: US SPR (Bryan Mound, Big Hill, West Hackberry, Bayou Choctaw), plus major non-US stockholding facilities where published.
  • LNG import & export terminals: Sabine Pass, Corpus Christi, Ras Laffan, Yamal LNG, Asian regas hubs.
  • Crude oil tank farms: major trading hubs (Cushing OK, Rotterdam, Singapore, Fujairah) where operator data is public.

Data sources

  • Global Energy Monitor — Storage Tracker (CC-BY 4.0) for facility identity, geometry, capacity.
  • GIE AGSI+ & ALSI for EU gas / LNG fill % at facility granularity (where published).
  • EIA Form EIA-191 for US UGS.
  • EIA SPR weekly stock report for US SPR-level inventory.
  • Operator dashboards where the facility publishes real-time or near-real-time fill %.

Fill % — published, not synthesized

If an operator publishes fill %, we show it. If they don’t, we show not disclosed. We never synthesize, interpolate, or country-share a missing fill. When fill data is unavailable at the facility level, the panel falls back to country-level aggregate (e.g. “DE gas storage: 62% overall; Rehden facility fill not disclosed”) — both numbers labeled with their source.

Freshness SLA

Known limits

  • Not every facility publishes fill %. We indicate “not disclosed” explicitly.
  • Capacity figures are typically nameplate, not current maximum working capacity. Working capacity tends to be 75–85% of nameplate for gas UGS.
  • No forecast of storage-days-to-empty here; that computation lands on the country energy drill-down once the disruption log ships in Week 3.

Attribution

Storage-facility registry data derived from Global Energy Monitor (CC-BY 4.0), GIE AGSI+/ALSI (registered API usage), and US EIA open data.

Corrections

See /corrections for the planned revision-log shape and submission policy. If a facility you operate is misrepresented, we treat corrections directly from the operator as top-tier evidence — open a GitHub issue at the public repository. Automated override-trigger entries ship with the post-launch classifier; corrections are handled manually today.